How is Texas Medicaid Structured?

Texas Medicaid System Overview

  1. Institutional Medicaid Programs

    1. HHSC - Main Program

  2. Medicaid Non-Waiver Home Care Programs

    1. Primary Home Care Services

    2. Community Attendant Services (primary for elderly)

    3. Family Care

  3. Emergency Medicaid - (noncitizens and not qualified aliens Medicaid)

  4. Medicaid Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS)

    1. Star+Plus Waiver

    2. Community Living Assistance and Support Services (CLASS)

    3. Deaf-Blind Multiple Disabilities (DBMD)

    4. Home and Community-Based Services (HCS)

    5. Medically Dependent Children’s Program (MDCP)

    6. Texas Home Living (TxHmL)

  5. Community First Choice

    1. An Affordable Care Act provision that really only benefits SSI beneficiaries who are eligible for Medicaid but generally receive only a modest level of home care.